Rural Students Entry Scheme

All local applicants who wish to be admitted to the Bachelor of Animal and Veterinary Bioscience or the Bachelor of Veterinary Biology/Doctor of Veterinary Medicine must lodge an application with UAC. To apply for the rural entry scheme, an additional application form must also be submitted to the Sydney School of Veterinary Science by Wednesday, January 4, 2017.

Criteria for admission to the BVetBiol/DVM and the BAnVetBioSc under the Rural Students Entry Scheme


Current NSW HSC or interstate equivalent applicants may be eligible for one of a limited number a places under the Sydney School of Veterinary Science Rural Students Entry Scheme if they meet all the following criteria.

  1. An ATAR not more than five points below the UAC main round cut off mark for the year of entry.
  2. Completed at least the last four years of secondary education at a rural school (the definition of “rural” is detailed below)
  3. A permanent home address in a rural area for a significant period (at least four years) at any time prior to their application (the definition of “rural” is detailed below)
  4. A demonstrated commitment to a career in an animal related area in a rural setting. (This may include a record of involvement and achievement in community affairs at school or local community level in a rural environment)
Not Eligible

Applicants are not eligible for a place under this Scheme if they have completed one full-time year (or part-time equivalent) of tertiary study.
Applicants are not eligible for a place under this Scheme if they accept an offer under any other Access and Equity Program offered by the University.

Additional Eligibility Criterion

BVetBiol/DVM applicants must submit a Commitment Statement as prescribed by the Faculty for 2016 entry and outlined in the UAC Guide. Please see the BVetBiol/DVM entry requirements for further details.

Application Form

Sydney School of Veterinary Science Rural Students Entry Scheme Application Form (pdf, 50 KB) or Application Form (doc, 323 KB)

Definition of “Rural”

The basis for the definition of “rural” will be the area encompassing the rural NSW Area Health Service regions, as announced by the NSW Department of Health on 16 March 1966, or the equivalent definition of rural applicable to other States.

Basically, all of New South Wales is considered rural with the exception of Sydney, Central Coast, Newcastle, Wollongong, the Blue Mountains and their Surrounding areas.


For more information please contact:
Future Students
Phone: 1800 SYD UNI (1800 793 864)